RSS
Image

Keep Writing!

21 Nov
Keep Writing!

I am writer, and I struggle everyday. Not with the whole writing concept, or story concept itself, but struggling with how to deal with the words no writer ever wants to hear(which can ultimately disrupt the flow of things for you in the writing world):

“You’re not good enough!”

“You’ll never be good enough!”

“Who do you think you are, Stephen King?”

And to which, I scoff, then wallow in pain from hearing such negative remarks from FAMILY! The last bunch of people anyone, who is emotionally supporting themselves, ever wants to hear. I can’t be the only one.

And I am not trying to be like ANYONE. JUST MYSELF which is what every writer/author I am sure is trying to do as well. But if that is not what they meant, then obviously they were talking about that person’s status quo. To which, I remind them, I write for ME, and only ME. Trying to read a publisher’s mind, or audience’s mind is unrealistic. And I believe, being true to me, myself, and I, is the only best shot I have in this industry.

So, instead of taking the easy way out, and google searching what others have done, I took out my pen and analyzed ways that might help me. In turn, I realized, maybe it just might help you. Yeah, you. The one who googled the same thing, wanting the same answer as I did.

Here’s my advice: Some people don’t even have any room to talk. The best you can do is live your life right. If it happens to be better than theirs, then so be it. Don’t let their failures be your self-doubt, and don’t let their jealousy be your burden.

That’s it! I hope you know we should all be here for each other, when no one is. Stand together, when others push. Build each other, when we fall. Only then, will we have a community so strong, no one will bother with their own petty insecurities.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2016 in Keep Writing!, Posts by Author

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Keep Writing!

  1. Malissa Greenwood

    November 21, 2016 at 8:42 PM

    Ugh! Yes!! This is exactly what I need to be telling myself these day. The perfect words – thank you for sharing them!

    Like

     
  2. Holly Ann Kurt

    November 22, 2016 at 6:39 PM

    Yes! Follow your dreams! Always!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. Patricke

    November 23, 2016 at 9:50 AM

    Generally, I have a weekly debate with myself about ceasing to write. It’s encouraging to hear other people have this problem; it makes me feel not so alone anymore.

    Like

     
    • Novelist Engineer

      November 23, 2016 at 11:31 AM

      Right? And it kind of seems like either people want us to become famous instantly, or fear it happening. Then they put us down when we are not famous instantly. It’s mind numbing. It’s like, I’m not trying to be famous, honestly I feel like I would stick out like a sore thumb in the rich people community. But, if it happens, then so be it. It’s just the matter of fact of me being true to myself, and stop worrying about what they think. Some people want money, others just want to write in hopes to enlighten, or encourage others. Or maybe even save lives. Harry Potter series saved my life, literally. I hope someday I could spread that same kind of happiness some day, as that series did for me.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. Anderson Ryle

    November 23, 2016 at 4:36 PM

    Always write for your own enjoyment; and if a few readers enjoy your writing as well, thats just a bonus. Stephen King himself even said something along these lines in the afterword of Just After Sunset.

    -Anderson Ryle

    Like

     
  5. Eccentric Muse

    November 25, 2016 at 5:41 AM

    Yes. We’re our first audience and when we write for ourselves, we tend to enjoy our writing more. Thank you for the follow. I look forward to reading your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  6. Eugenia

    November 26, 2016 at 9:50 AM

    Write from your heart and you will find an audience.

    Like

     
  7. tigre23

    December 28, 2016 at 3:33 PM

    Great advice and words to live by – something I’ve learnt recently too. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
